Audax 2013 – March – Two beasts

My second Audax of 2013. I’m still on course for one an month (not including January), just.

This route took in two big hills out of the “Another 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs” book. Both were rated as 5/10. I’d agree with the second (Frocester Hill), which was long, but not so steep. The first (Haresfield Beacon) I struggled with. I stopped 3 times. Once for possible ice on the road, once when I spotted an absurdly steep section ahead and was already exhausted and once at the top of the absurdly steep section when the road continued at just under 20%, but I was about to explode. When I say absurdly steep, this seemed steeper than Winterfold / Barhatch Lane, which I know is 25% and is rated 9/10 in the book. If I stood to go up, my rear wheel slipped and if I sat down I couldn’t move the bike. Maybe my hillclimb legs just aren’t in for this year yet…

I met a nice cyclist from the Gloucester Cycling Club and we chatted as we rode around near Frampton on Severn.

My route again took in a long section of the A38, which is still a great cycling road in my opinion. Wide, smooth and not alot of traffic (they’re all on the M5).

Next 100k will hopefully be in Norfolk and 10% of the climbing :-).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

