Audax 2014 – April – Raptobike Attack

The Raptobike has finally been blooded on an Audax distance. I didn’t want to go insane, so a “mere” 100km route.

The speed wasn’t bad, though a touch off what I’ve managed on the race bike. The moving speed is probably the most realistic reflection of the pace because I had a couple of stops that weren’t necessary last time. First was to adjust clothing after a cold start, the second was to take pictures. While the average was similar to previous rides, I did have the satisfaction of burning up about 5 roadies on flat and rolling sections. They would initially try to chase, but would inevitably dwindle to nothing in my mirror. I only caught one up hill, but no one ever caught me, so it can’t have been bad. There were a few hills reaching 15% gradient, which I managed to handle ok.

Putenham Rapto Rapto Putenham 2

My lack of recumbent legs is showing, in that I’ve been crippled for the remainder of the day. Also while the bent was fine for the majority of the ride, there were two weaknesses. A couple of road crossings, I only felt safe getting off and walking across. This was partly because I couldn’t stick my head out the front, like a normal bike to look round the corner and partly because uphill starts are still tricky if not impossible on a slippy surface due to the front wheel drive.

Even in a low gear on greasy tarmac, my initial plant on the pedal caused wheel slip, which meant I lost my speed and had to put my foot down. The front wheel drive didn’t seem to be a problem when actually in motion as as mentioned earlier handled 15% hills. I think it might be a problem if things got much steeper, but then I think my legs couldn’t take anything above 20%.

All in all though a fun ride, hopefully my knees will work again tomorrow!

 

  1. It’s so low it’s barely visible in long grass! Glad you had fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

