Audax 2016 – 100k – Norfolk Mardle

A bit like last time, I’ve been lazy and I actually did this ride in February.

The route took in a nice circuit of countryside South of Norwich: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1061269749

This was the route of an Audax I attempted very early in my Audaxing “career”. That time (2011 I think…) I made a disastrous misjudgement with the weather and decided not to wear overshoes (which I had brought to Norwich). It proceeded to sleet & snow heavily and my feet froze. I ended up giving up and turning around in Loddon and going home (so ended up doing about 60km anyway) when the people at the control failed to stamp my Brevet card quickly enough. I remember it took a day before I regained all feeling in my toes. My brother in law actually completed the 200k version (The Old Squirt) on the same day, but I believe he sorted out his footwear better.

This time was much more successful and I made a good average speed despite it being pretty windy, with a headwind for the two quarters of the journey.

I could have gone non-stop, but I decided to take several stops for pictures of picturesque churches, and the Norwich City training ground.

Norwich City Church4 Church3 Church2 Bike Church1

The lanes were covered with a particularly fine mix of mud and poo. Check out the despicable state of the forks in the Norwich City picture.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

