Audax Speed Analysis

I though I’d do some analysis of how I gain and lose time through an Audax event against the minimum speed (15kph) target.

After tinkering with spreadsheets for a while, I came up with the unit: minutes in hand per km travelled. So a value of 1 after 100km would mean I had 100 minutes in hand, so 1hr 40.

This is useful measure than simply time in hand, because, if I keep a consistent average speed, the line on a graph will be flat the further I go, whereas time in hand would keep increasing.

So here are the plots for all the audaxes I’ve done 300k or over:

Audax speed analysis

I’m not sure what it means, other than how essential it is to build time in hand early on, when you’re quicker as you’re not going to be able to do much later. This is clearly something we suffered from on our failed Wales adventure. We actually lost time more slowly after 200k than the Skegness ride, but had somehow failed to build much of a buffer early on through the fairly benign terrain of Oxfordshire with a tailwind.

    • blacksail
    • June 26th, 2016

    or to analyse it another way, we cycle slower in the rain. Date: Sun, 26 Jun 2016 20:41:01 +0000 To: davestreek@hotmail.com

  1. The rain on the Wales raid only turned up after 200km or so. Also, why do we lose time in the rain? We don’t ride slower I think, at least not on the flat.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

