Audax 2016 – 400k – Naseby & North Norfolk

 

After the 600k ordeal, I though I’d keep up the SR challenge with my longest solo ride to date. I stuck to fairly familiar ground with a route to Norwich via the fens: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1283758359.

I was pleased with my overall and moving average. At this pace, the 600 would have been a much more reasonable 30 hours, leaving 10 hours to sleep! However, it was definitely a ride of parts. The first 100k or so went well and I was on my normal 100k Audax pace! Then I seemed to hit a cliff and the next 100k was a real struggle, I even walked up a hill before Daventry! From about Oakham onwards, at 200k, things went better and I was able to keep a very  constant pace for the rest of the ride. I’m not sure why it went this way. Perhaps a combination of excessive speed early on (though it didn’t feel like it), then a headwind and choppy hills. I turned into a small tailwind at Oakham and thing flattened out, at least into climbs I could do in the middle ring and descents where I didn’t have to use my brakes.

I hadn’t realised Silverstone was less than a 100k from home, so though the masses of pimped up cars passing me was some local show, but then I hit a couple of roundabouts and there is was:

Silverstone

You can just see the huge traffic jam on the other side of the road going into the circuit.

Around Daventry, when I was feeling at my lowest, I was caught and passed by a cycle club. I tried to hang onto their wheels for a little, but I had no hope and they disappeared up the road. About 15 minutes later, I spied them in my mirror again and the same thing happened. This went on for ages with me passing them while they were stopped at shops or taking other routes. Finally, at Naseby, they were all parked outside a village shop and I was running low on water, so I decided to stop as well. We got chatting and they were impressed with my distance, but I was still amazed by their speed over their 150k club run.

Cycle club

Very soon after this, I had a nice break at the Cromwell monument, bag one more Cycle Quest answer!

Naseby

The area around Naseby was very picturesque, but I was really struggling with the hills and rutted roads. This estate road made me feel like I was on a welsh mountain (though not from the gradient).

Sheep

The ride through the Fens was hard, but decently quick, culminating in my second McDonalds at Long Sutton, the site of me and Dave hiding from the rain.

McDonalds

I still really rate McDonalds for Audaxes. There are lots of them, the service is quick, food is high calorie (if not super wholesome) and you can see your bike from inside. Also, I’ve always found the staff to be really friendly.

The North Norfolk coast was predictably pleasant, with some stunning sunset views (in the first of these, over the Wash from Hunstanton, you can just make out the giant wind farm):

The Wash

Sunset

On a small side road, where I stopped for a “break” on the way to Hunstanton, I found some semi-wild chickens, including this fine fellow:

Rooster

There’s not much I’d change with the route or timings. I managed to have quiet roads for most of the ride (not Silverstone), leaving the house at 4am and getting far out into the countryside by the time everyone had woken up. Also, I was tired getting in at midnight, but not in a state of complete collapse as if I’d had to go through the night. Seeing how wide the A17 was, I would also be tempted to follow it further to Kings Lyn as it’d save a few km.

I now get to add a new line to my speed analysis graph:

Audax speed analysis 201608

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

