2022 100k September – South Downs, light bike

This was an experiment to see how much my fitness had improved over the year and how much faster I could go on my new fancy wheels and light setup.

Therefore, I did the same South Downs loop I had done with my freind in Februray. The result? An indentical speed to my February effort: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9625470590!

This was a real surprise. Not only was the bike about 1.5kg lighter, but I also hadn’t been in great shape in February.

Perhaps it was the fact that my friend had gone at a tremendous pace, leaving me shattered by 2/3ds distance, but surely this would make the remaining crawl worse?

Perhaps a cold I had picked up earlier in September had trashed my lungs more than I thought?

Perhaps with the 2 of us and a favourable wind, we had made good time on the flatter bits?

This was to be the last long ride of the year before the mudguards and heavy wheels went back on, so my personal bests would have to wait till next year.

Listening:

  • Where The World Ends
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment